Now the word of the Lord came unto Jonah the son of Amittai, saying, Arise, go to Nineveh, that great city, and cry against it; for their wickedness is come up before me. But Jonah rose up to flee unto Tarshish from the presence of the Lord, and went down to Joppa; and he found a ship going to Tarshish: so he paid the fare thereof, and went down into it, to go with them unto Tarshish from the presence of the Lord. But the Lord sent out a great wind into the sea, and there was a mighty tempest in the sea, so that the ship was like to be broken. Jonah 1: 1-4 KJV

This was the text and the topic of the sermon on Sunday. I have to say I was well and truly convicted. The story is about God callling Jonah to go and admonish the people of Ninevah. Instead of obeying Jonah decided he was going to run. (I’m not sure how he throught he was going to run from one which is omnipresent but we are not always rational beings.) There were several things that came out of the sermon that I will take with me:

  1. Not using your talents/gifts is tantamount to disobedience.
  2. Sometimes we invite a “Jonah” into our boat. We allow people and things to bring storms into our lives, and while we’re struggling through them, they take a back seat. (Be careful who you take as a friend.)
  3. You must operate in your own calling.
  4. Mankind can give you advice but they cannot solve your problem.
  5. Sometimes there is something within that needs healing before you can get your breakthrough.
  6. Serving is not about doing what we like to do, it’s about doing what we’re called to do. (However, they can be one in the same, as in enjoying what we’re called to do.)
  7. Tarshish – where Jonah was fleeing to from God – is a hiding place. What is your Tarshish? Where do you retreat to when you’re called to do something you don’t want to do?

It was definitely a powerful word, primarily because I know there are things I should be doing, namely this blog and my books, that I haven’t been doing diligently. Continue to pray for me as I pray for each of you. Change is a process. I am in the midst.

