“Give to everyone who begs from you, and do not refuse anyone who wants to borrow from you.” Matthew 5:42 NRSV

I used to be the person who said “if I got it, it’s yours.” During a dark period in my life though, I became what I thought was “discriminate” in my giving. What I’d really become was judgemental. I’d judge everyone who asked or begged as worthy or unworthy. I turned my nose up at people I thought were “just trying to get over” on me. That wasn’t who God would have me – or any of us – be. Jesus said the second greatest commandment is to love others as you love yourself. I give myself what I ask for if it is in my power or reasonable to do so. The Word says against whatever standard you judge others you too shall be judged. I can’t speak for anyone else, but I know I’ve never been perfect. Going through a period of scarcity I couldn’t understand why nothing was working to pull me out. I was forced to take a hard look at me and my actions. I found it true that even when I had to give I withheld, so my conscience was making it difficult for me to ask for help. I was thoroughly convicted. Giving and receiving are loving acts. Withholding and unwillingness are not.

Father God we ask that you open our hearts that we may obey and mirror the example set by Your son. In the mighty name of Jesus. Thank you father. Amen.

TOTD: Giving and receiving are loving acts.

Today’s Challenge: How long do you deliberate before granting the requests of others? Do you find yourself considering their character or personage? Or do you just give because someone else is in need, no thought needed?

