“In everything do to others as you would have them do to you, for this is the law and the prophets.” Matthew 7:12 NRSV

I was always taught to treat others as you want to be treated. Extending pleasantries, kindness and well wishes were a way of life. When I moved to a new country, a new culture, I found that my smiles or ‘good mornings’ were met with scowls. It felt terrible. So much so I began to withhold them. I thought to keep my goodness and light to myself since others were unwilling to share it. But, not only was that very un-Christian, unloving, it also hurt no one but me. I became dark and understandably so. I was covering my light and it started to dim. Jesus calls us to share our light and be loving no matter how we’re treated by others. I wasn’t being me; the me I’ve always loved who loved everyone else, saw everyone’s potential regardless of their behaviour. I had to change. And when I did the world around me changed. The more darkness there is the greater the need for a shining light.

Father God in the name of Jesus, we ask you to remind us daily to be a glaring reflection of your love. Help us to be the love the world needs. Thank you father. Amen.

TOTD: Be the loving spark you want to see and experience every day.

Today’s Challenge: How do you treat others? Is it kind? Is it loving? Would you want to be treated that way?

